Research

When Women Refuse

When Women Refuse is a blog dedicated to documenting and publishing stories of violence inflicted on women who reject sexual advances. These experiences range from threats and verbal abuse to physical assault, acid attacks rape and murder.

I was traveling in Europe and drinking at a bar with a group of people I had just met. One guy invited me over to his place for the night, and I said no. He said it wasn’t very Canadian of me, as Canadians are known to be polite and say yes. He tried to kiss me and I told him to back off. He called me a slut and said that I clearly hadn’t had enough to drink.

When I was a senior in high school, I refused to get sexual with my current boyfriend and he had understood. During a period where we were broken up, I experimented sexually with a male friend I had known for years and felt more comfortable with. After I got back together with my boyfriend and he found out, he threatened to murder my male friend and force himself on me during a school trip because he felt more “entitled” to me. It took me a month to finally tell someone because he had actually brought a weapon on that trip and easily could have done what he threatened to do. After he was arrested, I later found out that he had tried to rape a fourteen year old girl during our break from each other.

It was my 19th birthday, and I was 4 months pregnant. I was at a bar with my SO and some friends, waiting to meet up with the rest of our group for my birthday meal. I went to use the toilet while the group went outside to smoke. On the way back from the bathroom a total stranger stopped me, and attempted to ‘motorboat’ me. I grabbed his chin and moved his face out of my cleavage. As I walked past him he smashed a full glass of beer into the side of my face and repeatedly punched me in the head.

Leave a Reply

